october goals and september progress

Wow, is it October already? Fall has hit New York, and I am cold. Really cold. Everyone is talking about how there is “crisp fall air,” and it is quite “brisk.” No, people. Brr! It’s not frigid, but it’s enough for me to say, “I don’t care how fancy pants you New Yorkers are, I’m pulling out my North Face fleece and you’re going to LIKE IT.” Hail to the Bay Area!

So here I am, sitting at a bar, wearing my beautiful fingerless gloves that my talented sister made for me, snuggled up in a fleece jacket and drinking sparkling water. I also have my check list, iPhone and notebook to my right. I’m the epitome of cool. I’m literally swatting the boys away during this happy hour, can’t you tell?

But now is the time for me to go through my goals from last month and see how I did. I’m sure you recall Modite, right? Well, it is a Gen-Y  life and career advice blog and I find it extremely helpful, especially since I moved to New York. Please refer to earlier blog post if you need refreshing.

September Goals

  • Apply only to relevant, interesting jobs in communications, new media and non-profits (preferably  all!)- Yes! Go me. I rock. Now must land a job that will be a good fit.
  • Read new book on social media (hopefully about blogging/marketing strategy) Whew! I just finished Twitterville, I’ll provide a review for that next week.
  • Run 20 – 30 minutes at least 3 times a week – Tear! No. There’s a yoga studio across the street from me, maybe that would be more promising. Running isn’t for everyone.
  • Find sublet for decent price with good people (the toughie!) Yes! I know I shared this before, but I have a studio in Williamsburg. It’s great! No internet though. Working on it.
  • Update blog once a week with pictures of new parts of NYC :) I tried to do this, but focused on job-finding more. My apologies! Will continue to have this as a goal.

In addition to reading the book on social media, I’ve also started a course at NYU’s School of Continuing Education, which is titled PR 2.0. The class focuses on how to implement social media effectively for business and public relations practices. Did you even know a class like this existed? Well, I didn’t! And, I’m really happy (read: geeky) to be taking it. Further, my Americorps stipend is paying for it! An essentially free class that I’m super interested in? Yes, please! Will provide a review at the end of the course in November. (Preview: it’s already been eye-opening and amazingly helpful.)

And, now…

October Goals!

  • Continue on job search with relevant and interesting public relations and social media positions
  • Check out yoga studios and sign up to go once a week. If you pay money, you’re more likely to commit. Right?
  • Update blog once a week with photographs – I owe pictures of Williamsburg now!
  • Find a place to volunteer on the weekends
  • Cook dinner at least once a week!

I’m very excited for October and will try to build a thicker skin for the weather, job hunt and exercise goals! Want to share your goals? Go over to Modite, update them on your blog, or list them here. I’d love to hear what you’re up to!


9 responses to “october goals and september progress

  1. I sooo feel you on the weather. I’m walking around town freezing and everyone here is saying the weather is so great. I try to explain that this is a much more bitter 60 degrees than I’m used to and they look at me like I’m crazy and walk off. lol

    On another note, I took a class just like the one you’re taking over the summer. But mine was horrible. I’m happy to hear that yours is going better. Maybe you can teach me a thing or two. lol

  2. You did a great job with your goals last month! I’m excited to see your pictures of Williamsburg. I love that are of NYC!

  3. Part of NYC. Not are. Lol

  4. You are doing great!! I hope you are enjoying your new home!

  5. Hey! Thanks for your comment on my blog and congrats on your completed goals for September! I enjoyed reading about your progress 🙂

  6. I think you have achieved most of your goals in September..

    Hope that you will be able to find the ideal job that you want in October!

  7. Good luck with your October goals. I’m excited to see those pictures. I’m trying to incorporate more pics in my blogs.

  8. Loved that you rocked September – I hope you find that fabulous job soon! Glad you’re getting settled in and hopefully October will rock even more 🙂

  9. Thanks for the encouragement, everyone!

    I’m going to do my best to stay upbeat despite some small setbacks in the job hunt and will keep everyone posted.

    I’ve already found a yoga place, so I’m well on my way!

Leave a comment